Lab Rotation Expectations

Hey everyone,

I'm about to start lab rotations and feel quite nervous. I know that expectations relies heavily on each PI, but can anyone speak to their personal experiences in lab rotations? Most of my anxiousness stems from rotating in a lab that is using techniques I have never done before. Are you expected to hit the ground running? 

Thank you for any input!

Put time into what you're doing. It's not like you're expected to get a ton done, but the more you get done the more impressed they'll be. But it's not just get it done, get it done well. Quality over quantity. You probably also have to balance your classes, so function with that limitation in mind.

Generally the PI is evaluating your motivation above all else, as well as your fit in the lab (socially, as well as with your interests). Grad students function fairly independently. A PI wants to know that he/she has students who are self motivated who he doesn't have to push to come to lab to finish that next experiment.

I suggest expressing excitement about getting results. If you have the option to analyze the data tonight or tomorrow, doing it tonight because you just can't wait to see the results will look a lot better than waiting. Also expressing excitement about the research in general (duh).

Also remember that PIs largely function as mentors. You can have a discussion about your interests and what you love about research in general. You should also be evaluating them and if you want them to be your mentor for half a decade. 

I'm in a neuroscience program so my advice is probably most applicable to those in the life sciences: