Is this The Right Thing?

grouchobarks

Hi everybody, I'd love your perspective on this. I graduated three years ago with my undergrad in political science, and had/have very little sense of what I wanted to actually do - only had a strong sense of what I cared about (which is a common and odious pattern and way to feel, I've noticed). The fall after I graduated, I was accepted to an Ivy League one-year international education program, with no funding, which thank heavens I was able to decide not to do, since 1) I didn't even know what I wanted, 2) the program was not that good or skills-driven, and 3) it would have financially crushed me.

After bouncing around the ideas of public policy, law, language, and journalism programs (and many more, trust me - I'm the worst), I decided to travel to and live in the region about which I had written my thesis and in which most of my interests were centered, and to study the language for a year. After that I did a research Fulbright in another nearby country, working in the humanitarian sector on roughly the same issues. Uncertain of what to do next (I kept thinking, at every step, that I would figure it out - but of course I didn't) - I put out a few options into the ether, including an application to a prestigious area studies MA concentrated on the region I had just left. Knowing full well that I was leaning more strongly toward eventual law school and that I felt very uncertain about my chances of getting in, let alone with financial aid, I didn't count on this option at all, and planned to find a job after I finished Fulbright and take it from there. But then, unexpectedly, I was accepted to this MA program, with a full scholarship, but in a big city with no living stipend.