Foreign student - Is my profile a good fit for an American uni?

claracg

Hello peeps :)

I am currently applying to several postgraduate programs in Sociology, but my 'profile' is a bit peculiar and I am worried my application might be doomed from the start lol

I hold a Masters Degree in Media Studies from La Sorbonne University (France), which I obtained with excellent grades. Even though my degree is not specialized in Sociology per say, I wrote my master's thesis on gender studies and political science related themes. I am not sure how it works in the US, but in France your master's thesis is a substantial piece of writing (100+ pages) and a 1 year full time project. Question 1) Is such a thesis a good 'bridge' between my previous university background and my current aspirations?

2) My CV is eclectic. I spent a good 5 years working and living abroad, first as a teacher, then in a cryptocurrency related field in Singapore (I finished my MA in between, about 2 years ago). Is this considered a strength, or a weak point? I see a lot of tips on how to ' create your unique story ' and show how you stand out', but I am not sure if this makes me stand out in a good or in a bad way. France and the US have completely different perspectives on this Phd thing, I am doing my best to put together a compelling application, but sometimes I am afraid it's all for nothing... Opinions and advice are very much welcome :)

Edited by claracg
typo