Neuroscience Interview

njc

Hi everyone,

I am new here. What has brought me here is that I have an interview with a good Neuroscience program that I'm interested in later this week, and I'm extremely nervous about it. I'm not sure what to expect from it, really. I read in some previous posts that the interview's purpose varies widely among disciplines. Does anyone have any experiences to contribute that are from a discipline similar to Neuroscience?

ks106, you make me blush! I'm no expert, but I have been on some neuroscience interviews already.

njc, congratulations on your interview! I was very nervous about my first one (earlier this month) but when I got there it was not bad at all. Everyone was friendly, and while I was intimidated by some of the professors, I found them to be very reasonable in the kinds of questions they asked me. Most of my professor interviews consisted of me talking about my research projects, the prof talking about his/her research projects, and then both of us talking about the school's grad program in general. If you understand the general ideas from projects you've done and classes you've taken, you'll have plenty to talk about. No one really asked me specific science questions, all you have to say is 1) what you did and 2) why you did it, whether you're talking about a research paper for class or a big lab project.

On the days when you don't have interviews you will probably be spending a lot of time hanging out informally with current grad students. They are a great resource -- ask them lots of questions! They can tell you their likes and dislikes about the program, explain why they chose it over other schools, and talk about life in the city where the school is located. These people generally volunteered to meet with the prospective students, so they are friendly, enthusiastic, and easy to talk to.