Velocity_Distance

Question

I am looking at both the Computer Science masters program and the software engineering program. I have 5-6 years of development experience

Software Engineering

Pros: 

- I want to be a professional developer and work towards software architect

- Professionally focused program

- work on real life problems

Cons: 

- I don't want to take classes on Agile and other methodologies because I have taken several trainings on it and use it everyday. 

- It sounds like a lot of team work, which doesn't bother me but I would like to do individual work as well

- I don't have a computer science undergrad so I want to take some algorithms, data structure, and ML courses, which I am not sure how possible that is

- The application will be a little more work cause its different from other programs I'm applying to

Computer Science

Pros:

- I will get to take algorithms, data structure, and ML courses

- Lots of individual work

- more flexible course structure (I think)

Cons:

- More theoretical, isn't focused on making me a professional developer or architect

- I might get buried with the course work because I don't have pure Computer science background

If anyone has thoughts or insights into the programs I would love to hear them

1 answer to this question

@Velocity_Distance I don't know a single thing about any of these programs, so I am sorry if what I am going to say isn't all the helpful at all. However, I believe there are two things you need to think about: