How to decide a field for Ph.D study?

Brown_Bear

Question

Hello everyone,

I am currently attending a public university where my Major is English, and have done really well in classes for this major. I am interested in graduate school, likely a Ph.D program, but am not exactly sure if this field is something I want to pursue. I've read about how some people can do Graduate work in different fields from their undergraduate years, but I am unsure of the overall process of deciding on a specific field of focus. I know that there are some other fields (History / Anthropology / Religion) that seem distantly related to English, and may even be appealing. For students who are currently in Ph.D programs, how did you decide what you specifically wanted to study? Did you find various programs that piqued your interest? As well, is it viable to study something else, and what may the pros or cons be to this?

Thank you very much!

6 answers to this question

You can absolutely transition into a different field if you want. The writing and critical thinking skills you develop as an English major will carry over. A lot of times, they just want to see that you've taken some core classes. And if you're still attending, you can make sure you get those done before you graduate.

As far as what to study, it all depends on what you're passionate about. A. What do you want to do as a career? A PhD is still a stepping stone to a career. So make sure you actually need a PhD for whatever it is you want to do. B. What do you find interesting enough to study in depth for 5-7 years? 

1 hour ago, placeinspace said:

Most PhDs require that you have taken a certain number of credits in that field before you can apply, so unless you've taken a lot of history or anthropology courses as an English major, you might have a hard time finding a program outside of English that would consider you.