Getting accepted to school/applied child psychology program?

SchoolPsych27

Hi all, 

I am a Canadian undergraduate student completing my joint Honours degree (with thesis) in Sociology and Psychology. I am, however, writing my thesis on a sociological topic. 

I am really interested in perusing a career as a school or child psychologist in Canada, and I have several questions to ask people who have applied for psychology programs (anywhere in the world). 

1.) My undergraduate GPA is 3.82/4.30. Has anyone received admittance to psychology graduate programs with a similar GPA?  

2.) During my second semester of my fourth year (I am in my fifth and final year currently) I had several unfortunate things happen in my life, and I ended up tanking academically. I received a C-, a C+, a B+ and two A's. I usually get straight A's, and I a wondering how seriously this will effect my chances of getting in? I have since steered my ship back on course and have returned to getting straight A's. 

3.) I have worked as a research assistant for three different sociologist, I have worked in a psychology lab and I have help a few TA positions. Is it essential that I get a publication in addition to my current experience? 

4.) Is it normal to take a couple years off before beginning psychology graduate school? If I do this, I will be 25 when I begin graduate school, and that feels sort of too late? 

Thanks everyone! 

1 hour ago, SchoolPsych27 said:

1.) My undergraduate GPA is 3.82/4.30. Has anyone received admittance to psychology graduate programs with a similar GPA?  

Your GPA is fine. It seems like most grad applicants have a perfect GPA, but that isn’t really the case.