Pass/Fail course in science

Noodles

I am interested in the field of economic history and plan to attend graduate school. Currently, I'm an undergraduate at a very large public research institution and taking an introductory course in geology to fulfill a physical science general education requirement. I am considering changing the grading status of the course from A-F to Pass/Fail because I am not confident that I will earn an "A" in the course. I'm unsure if I will manage a "B" because I've been told by several students that the final exam is brutal for non-science types. Currently, I have a "B" average. If I change to Pass/Fail I will fulfill the general education requirement, but the grade will NOT be calculated into my GPA so it will not affect it one way or the other.

How does a Pass/Fail grade in a science course play in graduate school admissions? Would I be better off taking it Pass/Fail or risking a lower GPA?

I am interested in the MSc Economic (Research) program at the London School of Economics and Political Science. Does anyone know how this could affect my chance of admissions there? Thanks.

I am interested in the field of economic history and plan to attend graduate school. Currently, I'm an undergraduate at a very large public research institution and taking an introductory course in geology to fulfill a physical science general education requirement. I am considering changing the grading status of the course from A-F to Pass/Fail because I am not confident that I will earn an "A" in the course. I'm unsure if I will manage a "B" because I've been told by several students that the final exam is brutal for non-science types. Currently, I have a "B" average. If I change to Pass/Fail I will fulfill the general education requirement, but the grade will NOT be calculated into my GPA so it will not affect it one way or the other.