I'm a FAFSA virgin

matcha

So, back in the day, my family made a deal with me. They'd pay for undergrad, but I had to cover any additional schooling.

As a result, this is my first year with FAFSA. I filled it out on time, so when do I find out what aid I get or what federal loans I can receive? Should I get be receiving this information before the "big decision", or after I commit?

I had nightmares that I had to go to a bank and beg for money. I hope that doesn't actually happen....

I've sort of wondered how this worked too.. If my parents are paying for grad school do they fill out the FAFSA with their information and just leave mine off? I mean I really don't have any information to add anyway.

In no particular order:

Quite a few schools require them for internal aid even if you're not requesting/getting federal aid, and they may have a deadline well before the federal date. Check with your school -- I think this is pretty common. Even federal aid info comes from your school rather than a centralized place, I believe.

Also, assuming you fit their criteria for financial independence, don't bother to fill out your parents' info.

Best advice is to call the Financial Office at the school where yo applied. They should have all your information on file and will be able to give you deadlines, etc to the day.