Importance of prestige for a masters with intent for a PhD

Johnvcm

I am agonizing over my decision of which masters program to attend. I have been accepted to the Univeristy of Chicago, George Washington U and Georgia St. U. I’m studying anthropology and intend to pursue a PhD with the goal of becoming a professor at a research institution. I’m in my mid 30s and changing career paths  

I have partial funding offers from UofC and GWU and a no tuition with Grad Assitant position offer at Georgia St. I could probably attend either UofC or GWU without taking on debt, but I would be taking substantial amounts from personal savings that could obviously continue to grow or be used for other life things down the road like a house, traveling, emergencies, etc. I’m also married with four children. I’m really struggling with what to prioritize the most in my decision making. 

UofC was my first choice coming into the application process and ideally would be where I receive a PhD from. Part of the reason for that though, is I have a strong desire to live in Chicago in the long run. I went to DePaul for undergrad for two years and had to leave because I had a child at age 20 and have been dreaming of getting back there ever since. I have returned a few times and still love it like the first time I set foot there. I haven’t seen the whole world, but a decent portion of it and Chicago is by far my favorite place. One of my good friends that lives there thinks I’m obsessing and there is probably merit to that.