BA vs MA Transcript - PhD Apps

hey all,

So I graduated with a relatively solid BA GPA in English back in 2016. Around the time I graduated I started going through a bout of depression that lasted through my MA. Low-motivation+isolated grad environment did not bode well for my GPA. I've got my MA now, but I'm scared about how the transcript might affect my applications to PhD English/Lit programs. My advisor says I'm overthinking things and that while I can't get into Yale, I have a respectable GPA. So what schools are not Yale, but are respectable? Because I want to be reasonable. Has anyone here gone through similar experiences or have any advice?

Edited by sweating

Hey! I also developed really severe depression in school, though mine was during my BA and lasted into my MA. While I know it wasn't my fault, I still feel pretty angry with myself because of how it impacted and hindered certain parts of my life, including my ability to network/form relationships/stay motivated in independent research. However, the most important thing I've learned from GradCafe though is that GPA is not the only factor, or even the most important factor, in your application. I would focus on finding schools that are good fits with your interests, and trying to reach out to any potential advisors before you apply. If you write a fantastic Statement of Purpose, have a great writing sample, and have good LoCs? I think you'll be just fine. And it sounds like you have a wonderful relationship with your advisor, so that's really really good!

On 3/19/2019 at 7:18 AM, placeinspace said: