Veterans utilizing Voc Rehab (Ch 31)

Tomlinson87

I was denied by my counselor due to having suitable employment (I’m a probation officer). The program is crazy. According to my counselor,  I would be eligible if I quit my job! I might appeal (denied last month) but not sure what the benefit would be as I have all my Post 9/11 GI Bill. I found it tonight to find information on the program as it pertains to becoming a LCSW. My counselor was not very knowledgeable.

Are you employed? 

Do you have all your GI Bill?

Whats your reasoning for going this route?

4 minutes ago, Otter13 said:

I was denied by my counselor due to having suitable employment (I’m a probation officer). The program is crazy. According to my counselor,  I would be eligible if I quit my job! I might appeal (denied last month) but not sure what the benefit would be as I have all my Post 9/11 GI Bill. I found it tonight to find information on the program as it pertains to becoming a LCSW. My counselor was not very knowledgeable.

Are you employed? 

Do you have all your GI Bill?

Whats your reasoning for going this route?

They wouldn’t let me pursue a PsyD because of the length of the program. That’s why I switched to an MSW.

I was in Law Enforcement in the Air Force for 10 years and then 8 months in St Petersburg, FL. I left because of my back.  I left several of my jobs since getting out because of my back. Also because I got easily irritated at stupid stuff (people acting like a fool).

That’s how I got approved.

Did you call the White House hotline? You can be employed while on Voc Rehab. If your disability affects your job in any way, you’re eligible. 

Are you on the Disabled Veterans fb page? Ben Krause runs it. He used voc rehab to become a lawyer and now advocates for veterans.