Fully funded through military but no research hours.

I am currently serving in the United States military. They offer to pay for soldiers to attend a graduate psychology program and after graduating there is a guaranteed internship with the military. In order to take advantage of this program I would first have to be accepted to an APA accredited graduate program. I finished my bachelors with a 3.9 and have a pretty high GRE but there is no way to get research hours where I am currently stationed. I attempted to change jobs into a psychology field within the military but they do not have positions open and it is not research so I'm not sure if it would help when applying. I could get out of the military to get a research job but then I couldn't do this program for many years if I'm even allowed to reenlist as anything besides combat arms (Meaning lots of deployments and therefore many more years before I could apply for the graduate program). I could request moving to a different duty station near a university where I could attempt to find a part time research job but my command would have to sign off and be supportive and that doesn't happen often because the needs of the military come first. Overall it might take several more years before I can be in a place to even get research hours. I was wondering if it's possible to get into a psyd program without research hours? Has anyone done this? Would my life experience in the military account for anything? I had to complete my Bachelors online because of being moved frequently with the military so I am not very close to any professors. It might be hard to get great recommendations. It's very ironic that the military offers to pay for the entire graduate program yet is the very thing stopping me from being able to get in. Any advice or experiences are appreciated!