Biostatistics programs focused on epidemiology

Hello, I was wondering if people could help me find biostatistics (or statistics honestly though I just figure that biostatistics programs are where these would be) programs that are focused on applications to epidemiology and infectious diseases. 

I want to work for NGOs in global health hopefully focusing on east Africa after getting a PhD but I'm having trouble determining the schools that would best prepare me to do this. 

Another related question I have - would I be able to do this sort of work even if my PhD work is not particularly related? E.g. if I did a pure statistics PhD focused more on methodology, would I still be able to find my way to global health work?

Thank you all for the help. 

If you interest is in epidemiology and infections diseases, it might be best to go for a PhD in Epidemiology or a PhD in Global Health rather than Biostatistics or Statistics (though I think many Epidemiology PhD programs require an MPH). An MPH or PhD in Public Health/Epidemiology would probably best serve your needs and teach you the applied statistics and methodology you need to know to conduct public health research without bogging you down in mathematical and statistical theory (if those are not of interest to you).

If you still want to do Statistics, the only program I can think of which may be somewhat relevant to your interests is the Statistics PhD program at University of Washington -- UW Stats has a PhD concentration in Statistics in the Social Sciences: https://www.stat.washington.edu/academics/graduate/programs/statsocsciences

Edited by Stat PhD Now Postdoc

Thank you very much for your response!

I did actually consider applying for a PhD in epi or global health. But like you said many such programs require either an MPH (or similar graduate experience) or at least a biology background which I don't have.