GRFP or NDSEG?

dalamplighter

Hi all!

I was recently accepted for both the NSF GRFP and the DoD NDSEG Fellowships. However, as many of you may know, I can only accept one. Most of my peers don't really know what the NDSEG is, so I haven't been able to get much help so far and I feel like I'm flying blind. I did see a thread on this subject from 2013 on here, but there weren't many responses and it seemed out of date.

I was wondering what the pros and cons of each were, and if you would recommend taking one or the other. If it helps at all, I am a second-year PhD student in neuroscience hoping to eventually become a professor (God willing), and I honestly care mostly about how it helps me get to that point, though money is pretty nice too.

NSF GRFP:

Pros: people know it better, is more flexible

Cons: pays less to me and my lab

NDSEG:

Pros: pays $4000 more per month, $5000 travel budget, completely pays stipend and fees

Cons: not flexible at all, seems like less people know about it (despite being more selective), maybe some PIs dislike DoD(?)

What do you guys think? Which one is best, and what pros and cons am I overlooking? Thanks a bunch!

I saw someone say on another thread that choosing NSF makes more sense if you're interested in academia because you'll have a relationship with NSF which may be important/favorable when grant writing in the future.

@dalamplighter Well, let's compare the two even further.

NSF

• 3 years of support
  • $34,000 per year plus $12,000 towards tuition
  • Get access to supercomputer/massive database (or something of that sort)
  • No service obligation
  • Can apply to NSF GROW and NSF GRIP (only for NSF GRFP awardees)
  • More known in academia

NDSEG

• 3 years of support
  • $4,000 per month ($48,000 per year), $5000 travel budget, $1200 towards health insurance, all tuition and fees are paid