For students still looking for micro/biotech for Fall 2019

some person

I know the Indiana University Biotechnology Master's program (1 year, no thesis) would still consider US applications, if they were submitted soon (non-US students will have a difficult time due to visa timeline but it could be possible, especially for the Fall)

I was a student hired out of the program and it's particularly useful if you are looking for a job in industry or otherwise need more lab experience than you already have. I'm not otherwise affiliated with the program and gain no benefit from you applying.

Some highlights:

• You are guaranteed research experience for a year and there's multiple labs to choose from that work in different areas.

• One is a mass spectrometry/proteomics lab where you will learn many common proteomics techniques.

• Another is a microbiology lab (antibiotic resistance) with a PI who is pretty renowned in their field.

• There's some other labs that work with CRISPR and other things, but I know a bit less about them. You can generally work with any science related-lab on campus that will take you but there's a core set of labs that are guaranteed to take you.

• There's a pre-defined course schedule (6 credits of electives), but there's some flexibility if you want to substitute classes for other classes if it suits your interests better. For example, some students add some bioinformatics classes or analytical chemistry classes.

• Many students do get publications, but this is often up to the ambition of the student. Some want to go to industry where they want technique experience and some want to do PhDs where they want publications.

• It starts in mid-June, but if the timeline doesn't work out, you can probably start in the Fall instead. You can also attend part-time. You can also do a thesis, if you want, but that might require 2-years.