Visual Artist with an MA in Art History?

staxdo_21

I am extremely interested in returning to school for a Masters in art history, but I also wish to maintain my artist practice which I know will be difficult to maintain if I am also trying to fit in time to think, research, and write. However, I've been working for almost ten years in a variety of arts administration jobs, and I know I need something more intellectually challenging from my day job. The after-work side hustle, classes, podcasts, and reading is not enough. I've been exceptionally lucky to be in commuting distance to world-class panel discussions on visual culture, and have taken some fantastic courses on art history as of late. I've joined a variety of organizations for administrators and creatives in the arts both nationally and locally, but I want more. 

There are a variety of positions I would love to build a path towards, but most of the people in those roles have at least a Masters, if not a Ph.D., in art history. I've interviewed a variety of people who now teach or work as curators, etc. The issue is that none of them are actual artists or have maintained their practice. Am I being unrealistic, or am I spreading my ambitions too widely? Am I taking a roundabout route to fund my artist practice?

• 4 weeks later...