Inquiry on graduate program(Philosophy of Science & STS)

Minki-Jung

Hello,

I am an international student from South Korea planning to advance my studies in Philosophy of Science abroad. I am aiming for US or Canadian schools mostly. Currently, there is 6 months for me to prepare and I would appreciate some opinions and feedback on my situation.

So, I have just completed my undergraduate degree with a major in Physics and a minor in Philosophy. I only really began taking my studies seriously from 3rd year and have managed to obtain a 3.6 GPA out of 4.5. I was an exchange student to York University for a semester and that was when I decided to pursue an academic career. However, since my commitment formed rather late, I was not able to get involved in research and assume student leadership roles in my department.

I have tried to find some people on here who are or have studied as Masters students for Philosophy of Science but without success. I am quite desperate for insight and know-hows on how they prepared for their admission and what the learning/research atmosphere is like at each university. It would be helpful if I could get some suggestions on practical accomplishments that I can achieve in these remaining 6 months to add onto my application.

Thank you in advance!

(I'm considering these Universities; Western-Ontario, U of Toronto, Wisconsin-madison, Indiana and York(sts))

Edited by Minki-Jung

My initial piece of advice would be to apply to more programs than you currently list. I planned to apply to 12 programs (I think that’s a decent number, but some people apply to almost twice as many.).