Writing a book before PhD

I am a few years out of my undergrad degree, and in that time I worked as a writer and researcher. I published a pretty successful serious nonfiction book during this time, and I'm wondering how that will look to PhD admissions committees. It's a very research-focused book, with hundreds of citations, but it's not published by an academic press. I also have a large social media following and lots of media coverage of my research. For example, I'm not sure if admissions committees will see this as unacademic and take me less seriously, or if they'll be excited that I have already completed a disseration-length research project and have a lot of experience communicating research findings with the general public. Or they might be excited to have a mini-celebrity in their program.

I was also wondering if it would be reasonable to use a chapter from the book for my writing sample, since it is my most polished intellectual writing to date.

In what discipline or area of study was the nonfiction book that you sold?  To be completely honest with you, if the book was not about a subject within political science and was not published by an academic press, ad coms, particularly at top schools, will not really care, because it will not demonstrate your propensity for rigorous research in political science.  That's not to say it's meaningless or that you can't put it on your CV, or even describe in your statement of purpose how the research you conducted to write your book lead you to want to further study political science (im assuming thats what you want to study since you're posting in a political science forum).