HIV quantitative research: Stanford, MIT, or Harvard?

AnnieM

Hi all,

I'm applying to PhD programs for entrance Fall 2020.  I'm in the process of narrowing down which programs best suit my research interests, but even after viewing faculty research profiles and general descriptions, I'm having trouble parsing the finer details of each choice from this readily available info, such as, what's it like to be a student there?  How strong is their research in the areas I'm interested in?  Etc.  

My research goal has been the same for the past 20 years: to find a cure for HIV infection... or a vaccine... eventually, both.  I had the idea as an undergraduate when I studied Immunology and also took several Calculus courses.  I thought, why not approach a cure or vaccine from a mathematical standpoint?  What if the biological problem of random mutation (and other issues making HIV hard to eradicate in the body) could be modeled mathematically, then computational methods (data science) and new engineering techniques (such as CRISP-R) could be applied to come up with a solution, or at least a more detailed description of the problem?  Giving this info as background to help clarify what I'm looking for, and what programs may be a good fit.  Also, in the event that a cure and vaccine are developed, I am still very interested in applying the same principle (mathematical modeling of biological systems and pathology to aid in development of disease treatments) to other areas of medicine.