Fall 2020 Statistics PhD Application Evaluation

Hi all,

I'm a senior undergrad in the US graduating in the spring. I'm applying to PhD programs in statistics/biostatistics for fall 2020. I'm wondering about several things:

1. Are programs in biostats vs statistics significantly different? I think I'm interested in a more theoretical/mathematical training so if biostatistics programs put a lot less emphasis on that then I'm not sure I'd want to attend those programs.

2. Are the schools I'm applying for reasonable? Suggestions on where else to apply would also be great.

3. Will not taking the math GRE subject test significantly weaken my application to higher ranked schools? I'm not sure if putting in the time to prepare and take it is worth it; I was planning on taking a practice test and seeing how that goes.

4. Should I retake the general GRE? I think I could get at least a 4.5 writing score and a higher quantitative score with not that much more preparation.

Undergrad Institution: Large public university ranked 15-20 in math by US news

Major(s): Applied Mathematics
GPA: 3.89

GRE General Test:
Q: 166 (89%)
V: 165 (96%)
W: 4.0 (57%)

Math Subject Test: (not sure if I will take)
Programs Applying: Biostatistics or Statistics PhD
Research Experience: Did a project related to Dynamical Systems with an applied math professor, and this summer have been doing a project with a statistics professor that I'll continue into the fall semester.

Letters of Recommendation: Two from the professors I did projects with. The applied math professor will probably write an at least ok letter and the statistics prof I think will be able to write a strong one. I'm going to ask a physics prof I took quantum mechanics with for the last letter because I did very well and I thought he liked me. In general I didn't form that close of relationships with my professors so I'm sort of worried about this last letter but I have several professors I took classes with as backups.

Grades: