Funding dilemma in current lab, need advice on what to do

labdilemma

Hi all,
Long post inbound, throwaway for very obvious reasons. I am a PhD student about to begin his third year in a top 5 cell biology program in the US.

When I joined my current lab last summer after rotations (I am one of three grad students that joined at the same time, we are all their first grad students they’ve mentored), I was brought in to set up a new line of research for the lab that I had significant experience in, but my PI didn’t. This line of research is incredibly expensive and difficult to perform, but returns very high impact results. Further, I had a project in mind that I really wanted to do, and this PI independently had the exact same idea. In short, it seemed like a perfect fit. I really like the PI as a person, and the two of us get along really well. My second year was mostly troubleshooting, but by the end of this year we finally got a pipeline set up in the lab, and we are now in position to start seriously collecting large amounts of good data. He has given me lots of positive feedback, let me take the drivers seat for my project, and been very supportive. I seriously cannot overstate how much I appreciate him as a mentor.