PhD Oral Presentation Stress

AbbyHunt

Hi All,

I'm a PhD student in psychology. My oral defense is scheduled in two weeks. However, I'm super super stressed. My supervisor has not been very helpful in terms of giving feedback throughout  the past four years. I basically depended on myself to find relevant literature and develop my research ideas. I went to a couple of conferences and presented my projects. I received mostly positive feedback. However, when we submitted the manuscript based on my dissertation project, it was rejected four times. Reviewers' comments were super harsh. I cried multiple times and I believe I developed a physical condition because of this. My period suffered a lot. Anyway, I am not confident about my dissertation, but my internal and internal/external committee members said I did an excellent job, they did not even provide many comments in our meetings. They are very sure I will pass and I am a hard working and excellent student. 

However, I always doubt myself, especially when I'm preparing my oral defense right now. I am worried that my external examiner who is an expert in the field will ask me difficult questions that I can't handle. I am scared that he will dislike my design. The more I'm preparing now, the more flaws I can find in my dissertation, e.g., design and the layout of literature review. Although my supervisor has assured me I will be okay. I am still worried because I'm not sure if I should trust his judgement. He has been very nice to me and we had a good relationship overall.

Could anyone please share your thoughts and experiences. 

Thank you soo much!

7 minutes ago, AbbyHunt said:

Could anyone please share your thoughts and experiences. 

Thank you soo much!

This must be a very stressful time for you, but you are getting there! I have been through the PhD defense stage and can totally relate.