Fall 2020 Statistics PhD Application Evaluation

bebop65

Hi all,

I'm a senior undergrad in the US graduating in the spring. I'm applying to PhD programs in statistics for fall 2020. I posted my profile recently and got great feedback, and I was wondering about a few more things:

1. I changed the list of schools I'm applying to, do they seem reasonable? I wanted to apply to more reach schools to give myself a better chance of getting into one, while also applying to enough lower ranked schools to not feel worried about getting into zero schools.

2. If I'm okay with doing a master's instead of a phd(in preparation for a phd), in general will it hurt me to apply for the phd programs? I.e. are there schools where you would get rejected outright(not even offered a master's) if you applied for the phd program but where you be accepted had you only applied for the master's?

Undergrad Institution: Large public university ranked top 20 in math by US news

Major(s): Applied Mathematics
GPA: 3.89

GRE General Test:
Q: 166 (89%)
V: 165 (96%)
W: 4.0 (57%)

Math Subject Test: (probably won't take)
Programs Applying: Statistics PhD/M.S
Research Experience: Did a project related to Dynamical Systems with an applied math professor, and this summer have been doing a project with a statistics professor that I'll continue into the fall semester.

Letters of Recommendation: Two from the professors I did projects with. The applied math professor will probably write an at least ok letter and I think the stats prof will be able to write a strong one. I'm going to ask a physics prof I took quantum mechanics with for the last letter because I did very well and I thought he liked me.

Grades:

Mathematics: