required "diversity" statements

Two of my programs require something akin to a diversity statement as a part of my application. I am not particularly "diverse" (economically privileged white woman) so I'm having trouble responding (questions are something along the lines of how would you contribute to a diverse environment)... everything I write sounds fairly disingenuous! Any tips on walking the difficult line between acknowledging my own privilege and actually answering the question? 

Also, any insight into how such a statement contributes to an application would be appreciated--am I just overthinking this?? 

I haven't written a diversity statement myself, so I'm no expert; however, I think it should (ideally) indicate that the candidate has considered their own identity; the relationship between their discipline and minoritized communities; and the steps they can take--in research, teaching, etc.--to foster meaningful inclusion. Unfortunately, I don't have any tips, but I think they're popular enough (esp. in job applications) that you can find online resources if you haven't already taken a look.

Yale had a very helpful diversity statement webinar for applicants this past cycle. [As another economically privileged white female, I can relate to your anxieties.] Here are some points that I thought were especially valuable:

- Begin by clarifying, both to yourself and in the statement, how YOU define diversity. Consider 'diversity diversity,' if that makes any sense: of course, diversity can apply to physical characteristics, but there's also viewpoint, methodological, political, and pedagogical/academic diversity to consider. Make sure that both you and the people reading your statement know what you mean when you use the word 'diversity.'