Considering a switch

hereandthere2

Hello! I am currently a first-year PhD. student in a mid-ranked political science department. I know it might sound like a terrible decision, but I’m starting to think that I would be happier in a history program. I’ve always been interested in historical dynamics but made the decision to go political science and attempt quantitative methods due to better job prospects in academia. My strengths lean more toward qualitative analysis rather than quantitative methods, and I would like to spend more time with the material I’m studying while being able to do research with fewer concerns of generalizability and with more concern for the significance of particular moments.

I’m interested in urban history and the history of race, education, crime and punishment, and public policy in 20th century United States. My BA was in history and political science, with senior theses in both disciplines. My undergrad GPA was 3.96 with a 4.0 in history courses and my GRE is 163V/155Q/4.5AW, which I would retake. That quant score hurt me applying to political science programs (should have just went for history right away ?). My grad GPA is currently 3.8, but I’m worried it will drop further because I’m struggling with quantitative methods. Right now, I am planning on trying for LORs from two undergrad profs and hopefully one from grad, and am hoping to work on revising my history senior thesis this summer. 

I’m concerned that I’m not well-qualified for history PhD programs. I am wondering if anyone has any advice about switching disciplines, potential programs, or whether I’m losing my mind considering this? 

I apologize if this post is a mess! Thank you so much. ?

Edited by hereandthere2

There are a few things you should do to make the switch (and I'm sure other people will chime in with more):