Embarrassed talking to potential committee members

I’m in the process of forming my committee, and I’m feeling more embarrassed than ever.

Quick background: I’m a first-year PhD student in computational biology. My undergraduate research was focused on analyzing human genomics data. My current lab focuses on lipidomics in model organisms. Currently, I’m working on a short-term project to manage some existing data. This work will be finished in a few months and should be publishable, but it’s more incremental work.

When talking to potential committee members, I know that I need to clearly express my long-term research goals. That’s what I’m struggling with and am embarrassed about. As an undergraduate, I was confident in my research interests as I felt well enough versed in my research area. Now that I’m in a slightly different research area, I’m less confident. I have broad views of my interests, but I’m really feeling a lack of background knowledge in my new field. I know that I need to translate my interests to knowledge gaps in my new field and make concrete plans to get where I want to go. I’m not there yet, which embarrasses me.

How do I speak well of my research interests when I haven't made concrete plans? What professor is going to want to work with me if I don't have concrete plans?

tl;dr
What advice do you have for conveying your long-term research interests when you’re in a new field, and you haven’t fully made broad goals into concrete plans?

This may be a difference due to fields, but in my field, you don't ask people to be on your dissertation committee until you have passed comps and have pretty much outlined a whole dissertation project with your mentor (who is also your chair). Only then do you choose committee members who can add certain expertise related to your project. We start developing relationships with multiple faculty and think about who may be a good fit earlier on, but the actual approaching of faculty is done in the 3rd year.