Funding on PhD Stopped, what to do?

Rubrubaiyat

Question

I am an international student pursuing PhD (2nd Year) in Political Science at Texas. My major is International Relations and Comparative Politics. Today, my advisor informed that my funding will not be continued? 

I am good in qualitative research, but I also know STATA.

Do I have time to apply for another Political Science program at any US varsity for Fall 2020. 

Can I credit transfer to any US varsity? 

Can anyone give me suggestion about it? 

2 answers to this question

I'm sorry, that really sucks!

I can't imagine that there's any chance of getting into a new program for Fall 2020. Most applications were due months ago, most decisions were finalized weeks ago, and a lot of schools suddenly have way more funding problems than they did 2 months ago.

It's also generally really difficult to transfer credits in Ph.D. programs. Occasionally a program will let you count a course you took somewhere else for their requirement, but in general Ph.D.'s are much less about the number of credits and much more about fulfilling the specific classes that program thinks you should have.

I do not have any great suggestions, but maybe:
Check your admission offer? (If you got promised more funding when you accepted there may be some recourse in this situation.*)
Ask around if there are any other funding opportunities at the school, like maybe another professor with a research assistant position?
Ask if there's any way to get a masters degree on your way out?
Do some hard thinking about whether you're willing to take out loans to self-fund until you can secure funding again? (This is probably a bad idea!)
Think about what you might want to with a year out of school while you re-apply to start somewhere else?