Law Student Interested in PHD, Next Steps?

super12345

I just finished my second year at law school, and have come to the conclusion that I would like to get a PHD in sociology and to become a professor. 

How can I make myself competitive for PHD programs? 

My background is as follows: 
4.0 GPA from a liberal arts college, in sociology 
I did a senior project (using historical methods, but I'd like to pursue quantitative research in the PHD). I also had several research papers I wrote as a sociology major. 
I'm at a top 3 law school (Yale, Harvard, Stanford) 

On a gut level, do I appear competitive for top-10 programs? 

I don't have a GRE at this point. How much should I focus on studying for the GRE? I did well on the LSAT, so I'm confident I can get whatever score I need on the GRE, but my sense is that there may be diminishing returns, as GRE is less important for grad schools than LSAT is for law schools. Should I aim for the highest score possible, or should I set a goal and not worry too much about exceeding that goal? 

I'm concerned about the current economic situation, and the fact that Princeton will not be accepting applications next year. Fewer slots at top programs means the whole process will be more competitive, and that I could get into a lower ranked program than I could have in a different year. Should I apply for 2021-2022, or should I wait a year for 2022-2023? Relatedly, but separately, I may end up with a one year position with a judge. Do people ever take off a year and return to a PHD? That is, could I start 2021-2022, work for a judge in 2022-2023, and then return to the PHD? Or is that type of manouver only common in the later years of a PHD?