External fellowship and financial/moving questions

icyscientist

I have a few unusual questions about external fellowships/grants and (1) moving to a state different than your university and (2) whether people have had issues working outside work while on external funding. 

I'm a PhD student and was just awarded an external funding from a national agency (think NSF, Ford, Heinz, etc.) grant (it's confusing because the old funding program was a "fellowship" but the new program is a "grant", which may play a role in my question). I am (and have been for 2 years) been working in industry full-time. My advisor and university have had nothing to say about this as it doesn't impact my progress, even while I've had a TA for some semesters. So my questions are:

1. I absolutely hate living in this state. I've been here 4 years and since I'm at the point of ABD, I do not want to live in this state anymore. Since my university is in this state, I was thinking that may have some kind of issue. Since it's an external fellowship (grant, whatever), then I wouldn't be paying out of state tuition because the Fed Gov is paying for it, so my university has a history of waiving that. In the RFP and other documents, nothing is mentioned anywhere about having to live in the state where your university resides. Does anyone have experience with or know if NASA or any universities have had issues with a PhD student moving while still enrolled full-time?