Meganburk97

Hi, everyone! I am new here and hoping y'all could provide some guidance. I will be graduating this December with a B.S. in Mathematics and a minor in statistics. Deciding what I want to do with my life has taken a looooong time, but I finally figured out my passions/interests: computational biology. As of right now, I am planning on attending graduate school in the Fall of 2021, provided I actually get accepted anywhere. Because my interest in the field did not come about until within the last year, so I have very little background in biology (as in...I'm taking an intro bio course this fall because the last time I took bio was in 2012 as a freshman in high school). I do know, however, that I am extremely interested in the field of virology and infectious disease research. All that being said, I have two questions: 

1. Is computational virology even a thing? Like building computational models of viruses to better understand them and help figure out vaccine development/treatment strategies?

2. If so, do you guys have any suggestions of PhD programs which have a strength in this area? 

Thanks in advance, guys :)

• 2 weeks later...

Hi, welcome! 

1. Is computational virology even a thing? Like building computational models of viruses to better understand them and help figure out vaccine development/treatment strategies?

Sure. You can apply computational methods to basically any sub-field in biology. For example, see: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0042682217300053

2. If so, do you guys have any suggestions of PhD programs which have a strength in this area? 

I'm not sure. You may benefit from reading the literature some (just search things in Google Scholar!). When you find papers that you're interested in, take a look at the authors' affiliated institutions.