Aesthetics / Art theory / Philosophy of Art

Nea~~~

Hi, 

I'm looking for some suggestions for the most reputable continental aesthetics / art theory Masters programs around the world in recent years... with the aim of continuing to pursue a PhD. I have an undergraduate degree in philosophy. If this subfield is 'too niche' to expect it to allow me to stay in academia, would neuroaesthetics/art and cognitive science perhaps be a better option? Thanks so much! 

Aesthetics is (unfortunately) one of the least desirable subfields for hiring. There aren't any jobs in philosophy but there really aren't any jobs in aesthetics. You're best bet is typically to "specialize" in a related field which allows you to market yourself as someone how does value theory/history of philosophy, who also has an interest in aesthetics. Even then the odds are slim. (I'm speaking more about the job market. The application process for PhD programs is slightly less competitive and probably slightly less of a big deal that you're interested in aesthetics, but it's still ridiculously hard to get into a good, funded PhD program.)

53 minutes ago, Nea~~~ said:

continental aesthetics / art theory

You may have to further delineate this. As I'm sure you know, that's a big field.

55 minutes ago, Nea~~~ said:

would neuroaesthetics/art and cognitive science perhaps be a better option?

Do you mean in a philosophy department or actually doing cognitive science?

How's your French/German? You could think about a French or German department depending on your interests, though those aren't exactly fields with active hiring either....