Bad BSc GPA vs straight A's in MA and PhD coursework

ak71

Hey all,

I'm currently a PhD student and going to re-apply to some top programs in the US and UK, this season. My BSc was in math and I have so many awful grades (more like a pattern than rare incidents) but my MA and PhD grades are all A (and they constitute so many courses together). I think it's fair to expect the Bachelor's GPA to strike against my case, so I won't ask if they do. (Do they, though?!) What I want to know is where and how to address this stain in my case, if at all? Should I address them in my SOP? Should I just straight up take responsibility for the bad grades, or should I tell stories about those years?

PS 1: I took some advanced graduate courses in my BSc and got A's in all of them! Maybe mentioning that helps?

PS 2: if it's relevant, my recommendation letter writers are all established philosophers from top schools and I know they will write great stuff about my MA years and/or my sample of writing, etc.

PS 3: Given that all of the departments that I'm applying to have dropped the GRE requirement, I'm not planning to take the test.

I appreciate your help!

Edited by ak71

If you have a really good excuse for your poor undergraduate grades, then spend some time explaining that. Otherwise, don't focus on your undergraduate grades. Emphasize your upward trajectory and sustained recent success in graduate school. Like everyone else applying to PhD programs, your writing sample and letters are going to be most important. It sounds like you'll have great letters (and they'll be expecting that from you, since you're already a grad student). I'm assuming that you have a good candidate for a writing sample too?

1 hour ago, PolPhil said: