Future painting MFA applicant without BFA/BA Studio Art degree?

simmodium

How important is having a BFA/BA studio art degree in undergrad in terms of being competitive to MFA painting programs, including the top ones in the US?

For context, I have a BS degree from my undergrad studies, but took a few studio art classes and several in the humanities. I originally planned on getting a BA in Studio Art but the practical side of me went the opposite direction. MFA-wise, I'd be applying next fall (so a program fall 2022 - spring 2024) and am already 5+ years out of undergrad. For most of that time, however, I've been working a full-time tech job, not making that much work due to my job, and network-wise, I haven't been involved with anyone in the art world. But earlier this year, I quit that job to focus on my practice, beef up my art history and contemporary art knowledge, while working part-time to pay the bills instead.

I'd appreciate some words of advice for a few q's and concerns below! 

1. I'm very aware MFA programs want people who want to make this their life's work. Part of why I left my full-time job to focus on art is to ensure that this is true for myself. But I'm quite worried that the program might see my interest in art as just a phase or hobby -- what is the best way to address this concern?