grad school in cognitive neuroscience Ivy schools vs non Ivy schools

Nutsa

Hi, it's my fourth year in college and I'm applying to grad schools this fall and I'm looking for an advice.

I really want to get into a good school, however I'm from a developing country and the university I'm studying at is very new and not famous in any way outside of my country.

My GPA is 3.91 out of 4 in Biology with minor in Chemistry, I have related research experience and my TOEFL score is 109/120 with 30/30 both in reading and listening. How should I choose where to apply (besides of course research topics and professors), what kind of acceptance rates and etc. Should I even try to apply to Ivy schools such as NYU or Columbia or it's not worth to try? 

Any advice will be much, much appreciated! 

Hi @Nutsa,

I think there are a few things to break down in this post:

1. The Ivy League refers to a sports conference that undergraduates are eligible to play in. Columbia is part of that sports league; NYU is not part of that sports league.
2. Rankings at the undergraduate level differ (which ranks schools as a "whole") tend to be different from rankings at the graduate level
3. Some schools which might not be top ranked for a subject might have a better "subranking" for a specific subject
4. Besides grades and scores, your interests and who is in the application pool will determine whether or not you're accepted. In many ways, the process is unpredictable.
5. Certain schools might carry more weight in certain countries; just like certain schools might carry more weight in certain cities or regions within the USA.