Importing recommendation letters from previous application? (NYU)

ak71

Hi all,

I just realized that NYU allows to import recommendation letters from my previous application. I was wondering what you thought are on this. I already have three recommenders this year, one of them from the previous round (former supervisor), and the other two being top experts in the field who will be only reflecting on may sample and how they find it interesting, etc. I'm not sure if I should import the other two from the previous round. Here's the main problem:

One of the old letters is from a former supervisor/instructor with whom I had taken a huge load of courses (all A's), and the other one from a former instructor with whom I had taken a few courses (again all A's) and had done some paid research in a prestigious project, while I was a student. I know both former writers say nice things about me and all, and the great thing about them is that they provide unique feedback on my former performance a student/research assistant; something that isn't available in the new letters. But the problem is that they -- as is costumery -- both talk about the sample of writing that I had submitted before, which is objectively garbage compared to the one that I'm submitting now.

This is my initial thought, but I'd like to see what you think: since NYU also apparently allows to upload another sample besides my new one, I can upload the old one and add a cover page to it, saying something like this: "This sample is uploaded just to make sense of the previous letters in case they reflect on it; it does *not* represent my present philosophical skills and thoughts, and should be ignored for purposes other than making sense of the old letters. My main sample of writing is the other one." 

Would this be a good idea? Or should I just import the letters and not the old sample? Or maybe let the past go in its entirety?

I'd appreciate your help!