[Newly admitted stat statistics PhD] How PhD students choose their topic? / How should I choose school?

storyny

Hi 

I was recently admitted to several Statistics PhD program (Let me say "Schools"), and their rankings are really close each other (based on US News). Admittedly, each "School" has different configuration of professors, and now I roughly know which "school" is stronger in certain fields of statistics. 

My problem is that currently I don't have any specific interests (Just have a slight interest on some topics). Rather, I want to study and explore various areas during my coursework, then choose my topic. 

To choose one of the "Schools", I am currently studying about topics (causal inference, high-dimensional inference etc.) But, I quite wonder if this would be actually helpful for my final decision. I think my interest can change if I study deeper, even I get greatly intrigued by one topic while dabbling on it. On the other hand, I think this process will repeat when I choose my research topic after my PhD coursework.

So, I would like to ask how statistics PhD students choose their dissertation (especially for those who didn't have specific interests before). 

Plus, under this situation, how should I choose my final school...? Maybe it would be better to choose school that has faculty with wider range of topics?

Any replies would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Edited by storyny

• storyny changed the title to [Newly admitted stat statistics PhD] How PhD students choose their topic? / How should I choose school?