Which school is better??

boab

I am wondering about which of the two schools below would look better on my resume. I am studying for a Ph.D. in Geology.

School A: Ivy League, but not quite in Top 10

School B: Top Ten, but not Ivy League. In fact, the school is not that fancy in terms of undergradute reputuation.

Any opinions here? I am tempted to say that "Ivy League" means nothing here.

Ivy Leage means nothing.

1 - The Ivy League is a sports league that just happens to have some fantastic schools in it.

2 - Undergraduate ranking is different from graduate school ranking

3 - For graduate school, fit and advisor are just as important as rank.

Considering the large number of views that this post has received and the lack of further responses, I am assuming that Amanda hit the nail on the head here. Does anyone disagree?

There is a prestige factor at some schools, which may help in the job hunt, but only if all of the other criteria have been exhausted and the applicants are still equal.

If it were me, I would take the program where I would be happiest and best able to live for 4-7 years.

Hey! Finally, another geoscience person on this forum!

I agree with all that's been said previously. I just wanted it to be known that there's more than one geoscientist here.

Hey Man,

So I wonder about how your are making your decision here. Did you notice that a lot of the so-called Ivy League schools are not ranked particularly well in Earth Science? Schools like Texas at Austin, Arizona, Penn State and Michigan are all ranked above Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Cornell, Brown and Dartmouth. I am assuming that you are turning away from the "Ivy League" as well.

I am wondering about which of the two schools below would look better on my resume. I am studying for a Ph.D. in Geology.

School A: Ivy League, but not quite in Top 10

School B: Top Ten, but not Ivy League. In fact, the school is not that fancy in terms of undergradute reputuation.