Am I too incompetent for research?

bubblebath

I am a recent college grad working in a lab during my gap year. I have been working under the post-docs for half a year now. They yell at me whenever I make mistakes or do things that are different from how they taught me. I know I have been working here for a while now but I feel like they ask me to do different things every other week and expect me to know the protocols by heart once I've done it once, and I just couldn't. I know from their point of view, I just could never remember anything no matter how many times I've done it, and I recognize that it is a problem. However, I was not used to knowing every detail on a protocol by heart and feel like it is unfair for me to remember exactly how to do something I learned for the first time months ago. Even though I recognize that I am not a competent researcher, I don't think I deserved to be treated like this. My post doc yells at me constantly and is always passive aggressive towards me when I make mistakes, or even when I don't have the best techniques. I know they mean well and are not just terrible people, but I didn't realize I was this incompetent before this lab and want to quit. Am I not cut out for research?