Where to find advice about a PhD in education?

culturalsushi

Hey all,

I am a current second-year undergraduate student who is majoring in Biology and Spanish. I believe I want to enter education, and I am looking for some advice. I am open to different types of jobs, but I am very interested in academia and educational research. I am currently in a science education research group headed by a well-known scholar in the field, and I am leading a project, which I will most likely have my name as first author. I have pursued other routes as an undergraduate such as pre-med, which I disliked because all my worth went to grades, and I am also involved biological research, which I enjoy but cannot see having a future in. A few questions I have are below:

1) Are PhDs in education, particularly science education, in demand? What is a PhD in education like? I expect there to be a lot of reading and research. Are there programs renown for education? (I'm assuming places like Harvard, Stanford, Penn [?])

2) I definitely want to take a gap year or two after undergraduate to figure everything out because I've been changing my mind a lot over this past year. Do you think pursuing teaching at the K-12 level for a year or two is possible? I've heard of programs such as Teach for America, which would do just that.

3) Is there a forum about people's past stories? I've been trying to find people who had a similar journey as me. 

Thank you so much for reading this. 

Hope you are doing well.

Edited by culturalsushi

You're doing great by thinking about this so early!

There are numerous different kinds of research programs in education that you can pursue. To get an idea for how wide the variety is, you can check out a representative PhD program page, like Virginia's or Columbia's. So one thing to do is try to narrow down what kind of program area you're interested in.