SAIS vs Pitt GSPIA vs. SFS

Jerseycub6

Hi everyone, 

I will you like your insights to help me decide which program to attend this fall. I was admitted to several schools however I have narrowed my choice to SAIS MIAR (50K scholarship and first year in Bologna), Pitt GSPIA Master in International Development (Full ride + monthly stipend), and Georgetown SFS Master in Latin American Studies (13K scholarship renewable for second year).  

I am in my last year of undergrad and my career goal is to join the USAID Foreign Service or the regular Foreign Service. I plan to focus my grad studies in development and human rights with an emphasis in Latin America because that is the region where I would like to work in the future. I also want to become fluent in Portuguese because I already know Spanish and I think that is a helpful language to do work in the region.  

I like all three programs, however there is some important differences among them. At SAIS I can spend on year in Bologna and the second one in DC, getting a great network at both sides of the Atlantic and having access to tons job/internships opportunities. Besides, SAIS has a great focus on econ and quant skills that would be really helpfu for my future career plans. In addition, is has a great language program where I could improve my Portuguese language skills. SAIS has also a great reputation and practitioners’ professors with many connections which would make easier getting job opportunities. However, of all three schools SAIS has the weakest Latin American program and also the larger class sizes (even though in Bologna classes are smaller than DC). Finally, even though I received a half tuition scholarship, I would be 100K in debt if I end going there because of the cost of living in Bologna and DC.