SLP undergraduate internships?

Hi, I am currently an undergrad not majoring in CSD (it's not offered at my university). I'm trying to gain some sort of SLP experience before applying to graduate schools next year, but I'm finding it really difficult to find shadowing or any work opportunities (understandably) due to COVID. Does anyone have any advice for things I should be doing this summer before applying to SLP schools? Anyone know of any places looking for volunteers?

• 4 weeks later...

I wrote a post about ways to improve your application if you've received rejections, and the advice that I'd give here is really similar. If you don't have a network built yet, you're going to want to do a lot of cold-calling. You can call schools, as some SLPs that work in the schools provide extended school year (ESY) services. Other places to try include hospitals, private practices, SNFs, and inpatient/outpatient clinics in your area. Before you ask to shadow/volunteer, be sure to look up a little bit of info about the practice so that you sound knowledgeable. See if the hospitals have websites with specific numbers to call to get ahold of the SLPs (even better, email so that they can respond when they're not busy!). Schools also often post faculty emails or phone numbers on their websites! There are also some SLPs over at r/slp that have offered to allow students to do teletherapy observations. 

On 4/24/2021 at 8:18 AM, Nicolettec said:

Hi, I am currently an undergrad not majoring in CSD (it's not offered at my university). I'm trying to gain some sort of SLP experience before applying to graduate schools next year, but I'm finding it really difficult to find shadowing or any work opportunities (understandably) due to COVID. Does anyone have any advice for things I should be doing this summer before applying to SLP schools? Anyone know of any places looking for volunteers?

Doesnt answer your question directly, but here's a resource you can use when you start applying!