Vanier 2021-2022

Fazi

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to create a thread for the upcoming Vanier 2021-2022 application to pass this journey together and win our Vaniers, hopefully! :)) 

Also to ask a question: After selecting by our university, can we edit/improve our application? Or they submit our application without any change?

Thanks in advance

Best of luck everyone!!

I'm on the fence about whether or not to even apply, since I'm worried I'm not competitive enough on the research side. It seems past winners all have multiple publications but all my research has so far only led to conference posters & presentations... plus I've barely been able to be in the lab this past year! Mostly becomes a question of how much they weigh Covid-19's delays on experimental research, I suppose :/

Re: application edits, I don't think you can make any changes!

Thanks for your reply!

I am also a new PhD student, starting this Fall! I have 4 publications and 4 conferences (but not in recent years, as I have a gap between my master and PhD!) So, I think also my academic section is not so strong. But I have some good professional and volunteer leadership experiences and will try my best to write a good proposal. So, overall I have a small chance, I hope! 

And so, before the university deadline we should prepare our final version, right?

If nominated,  you will have an opportunity to do edits before the final deadline. Usually, the University committee will offer feedback on areas that you may consider improving. 

My take is that you should at least try. Please don't self eliminate my friends.

@MakeitRmakeitThank you for your reply!

I would like to know how they evaluate the leadership skills, for instance? (I read the website carefully, of course.) But, I would like to know for example who, which what kind of activities, could get a score of 9, or 8 or 7? What about other criteria?