Teaching Assistants

abolitionista

Hey Everyone,

As I'm preparing to grade a massive load of finals, I'm convinced that my teaching load is beyond excessive. Each quarter I hold discussion section and grade for a total of 90 students, which means I have a whopping 270 students each year. I'm a first year PhD student in a department that only offers funding in the form of TAships which really sucks. I know grad students do the work of the university but this just seems unreal. And these conditions are pushing me to want to transfer unless someone can convince me that 90 students is normal. Oh and by the way I am in the humanities at a UC.

How many students do you or others in your department have as teaching assistants?

I don't know if adding the students in different quarters is what you should be doing, but regardless I think that holding sessions and grading for 90 students a quarter is A LOT. I guess it depends on what you're actually expected to do every week; for me personally the one semester where I held sessions for 40 students [though I was only payed for 20 students], wrote and graded *long* weekly assignment and graded alone their ~30-essay-question-take-home-exam was enough to make me want to quit TAing altogether. [one 2-hour session, 4 hours attending lectures, 1 office hour, countless emails+meetings outside of office hours every week.]

As for my current school, TAs for the general intro class usually have no more than 20 students in their sessions, and they usually only TA one session. Other classes have even smaller TA sessions. But then MIT is unusual in this sense, our undergraduate program is exceptionally small and even the intro course that can satisfy general education requirements isn't that large. Departments at larger public schools place a larger burden on their TAs.

Edited by fuzzylogician