MPH: UNC vs Berkeley vs UMICH

Fernandez

Holla Comrades!

I'm a international student and was recently offered an admission into these three great programs in public health. They differ slightly into their concentrations but I don't have any particular interest so far (I don't even remember what I picked haha), if anything I would prefer more broad education (e.g., UCLA offers that). Financial consideration is not a major concern since it will cost about the same more or less and I'm frugal :)

Personally, don't want Michigan. Location/community life - don't care much, East or West is fine.

I mostly can't decide between Berkeley and UNC. As judged by ranking, UNC MPH stands higher (actually very high, only JH is "better" pero I was not accepted there) but UCLA/Berkeley is the brand name that is hard to ignore. What are your thoughts?

Would you choose B or U? Don't want M.

• 4 weeks later...

Hey there-since you said you're unsure of your interests (which is fine, I didn't mean that to judge), I think it is important to consider the location of the school with regards to the quantity and quality of applicable opportunities (i.e., internships, part-time work during the school year, summer, etc.). I'll be honest, I don't know much about this at UNC and while I imagine Berkeley has more I've never been to California tbh and don't actually know.. But just a suggestion to think about and factor into our decision making, if you so choose. I also don't know much about international student visas and whether or not they restrict taking advantage of anything I just suggested you think about. 

Edited by JPZ13