Ongoing career switch -- moving from psychology to comp science/engineering

mjes

Question

Hi,

I'm in my first semester of a professional MS program at CU Boulder (info on degree here). The program is pretty open-ended, but centers on interdisciplinary engineering & design. Buzzwords: UX/UI, human-computer interaction, and creative tech.

This an expensive and pretty degree. I did this for a few reasons: 1) I really needed to broaden my job prospects/salary range, 2) I'm interested in HCI from a research standpoint (I want to be a scientist), and 3) I love engineering, but I studied psychology, and this was the best fit that I could find without having taken any supplementary technical courses.

For context, I really needed to make a move. It's not particularly flattering for me to think about the other, better moves that I could have made (comp sci, comp engineering, or any other MS in applied science comes to mind).

Here is the thing: I fully understand, at this point, that if I want to commit myself seriously to motivations #2 and #3, I will have to continue study on through a PhD. This makes a lot of sense to me because I want to be scientist, whatever that entails.

The catch is that my Master's degree isn't nearly technical enough for me to think that applying to heavy-hitting engineering/applied sci doctorates would be easy after that. It is, however, *very* flexible and well-funded, meaning that there are labs available to me that pull from the massive engineering/applied science resources at CU Boulder. I'm at liberty to design my degree however I see fit, pretty much. I am also gaining new technical expertise, and making strong contacts -- I'm currently TAing for a neuroengineer.