MA/PhD programs to study Soviet history with an emphasis on culture

molodec

Hi everyone!

I am a Russian undergrad student. By 2022, I will have graduated from HSE (Higher School of Economics, Moscow). Now I'm working on my application for Fall 2022.

My background:

• I have 4 overall GPA (8.9 of 10).
  • 6.5 IELTS (7.5 L, 6.5 R&W, 6 S).
  • I have no GRE.
  • However, I have a writing sample and it is based on primary sources (soviet children’s diaries).
  • I probably can get strong recommendation letters from my profs.
  • I worked as a TA at HSE, have some publications in Russian journals for undergrads and took part in some conferences.

I'm interested in late Soviet history with an emphasis on culture (my writing sample is dedicated to Soviet children's attitude to ideology). 

I'm searching for MA or PhD programs which will suit my interests and are fully funded (it is impossible for me to fund my education by myself). I understand that my background and scores are not for top universities and I want to know more about affordable and less-known universities in the USA, which are suitable to enter in my case. I have studied the list attached here and been mostly attracted by University of Massachusetts - Amherst, University of Delaware, Texas Tech University but maybe there are other options that I am not aware of.

I need to add that I am also open to universities in Canada and Australia.

Help me plz because I really want to leave Russia for some years and gain experience of studying abroad.

I'd appreciate any suggestions/comments/ideas.