Academic dishonesty question - advice needed

DataCurious7

Question

Hi everyone,

As the title suggests, I am an undergraduate currently and had an academic violation due to working with a classmate on a take-home open note examination. It goes without saying, but I am ashamed of this and it won't be happening again ever. Since it was my first ever (senior currently), there will be nothing on the transcript except a D in that course.

I am applying to professional Masters programs (in data analytics) and already applied to 4 before this happened and still have about 10 more to go. Of course, I will not be lying anywhere on my application or otherwise. 

My Profile: Research experience (published article), 3 internships, 1 major/2 minors, leadership positions in campus clubs, GPA: ~3.80 after the violation

I had a few questions, however.

1. If I do get acceptance in any school I have applied to already, unless they ask to explain my bad grade, should I bring up the misconduct on my own? Should I do it right now or wait until a decision comes out?

2. For my current schools, the wording on the academic dishonesty question is very confusing. One says "have you ever been dismissed or placed on probation?" which for me would still be a no. Do I say no and not mention it or do I say yes anyways? If I say and they don't follow up to ask about my bad grade, do I ever disclose it then? 

3. Should I take a couple years to go in industry and put some distance before I apply? Most of my programs are intended for people with 0-3 years of experience. Or should I apply right now and if I get rejected then apply in a couple years?