How should I structure my essays for dual MSW / MPH programs?

Kelso123

Hi there, so my dilemma is this. I am applying to several dual MSW / MPH programs, but most of these programs require separate applications for each degree (if accepted to both, it will be a dual program that only takes three years instead of 4+). Should I structure my essays around my reasoning for applying to both programs, or should I focus on each program individually (i.e. shape my MSW essays around why I want to be a social worker, my MPH essays about why I want to work in public health)?

I would love to hear from anyone who has experience applying or attending a dual degree program or who works with dual degree program students. 

Hi I have a MSW/MPH dual degree. I think it depends on the review committee if they are separate and unaware that you are applying for a dual degree then separate them. I think you could try contacting the program admins and they will provide a better idea. These two degrees are indeed interrelated, especially with Covid and the growing awareness of social determinants of health, I don’t think your essays need to be that of a difference for these applications even they are separate 

1 hour ago, XXXXXXphd2021 said:

Hi I have a MSW/MPH dual degree. I think it depends on the review committee if they are separate and unaware that you are applying for a dual degree then separate them. I think you could try contacting the program admins and they will provide a better idea. These two degrees are indeed interrelated, especially with Covid and the growing awareness of social determinants of health, I don’t think your essays need to be that of a difference for these applications even they are separate 

Thank you for your response! I'm curious, what are you doing (or planning to do) career-wise with your dual degree?

15 hours ago, Kelso123 said:

Thank you for your response! I'm curious, what are you doing (or planning to do) career-wise with your dual degree?