To retake or not to retake...

scyrus

Brief summary of my situation: I'm a CS student seeking to apply to PhD programs this coming Fall, and have a 4.0 and a couple of years of research experience from a top 10 CS institution as an undergrad(top 10 is in Graduate CS rankings, though). I don't have any publications. I scored a 770 in math, and a 680 verbal on the GRE.

Currently, I'm in a summer research program at a very prestigious research institution, and this research will likely, but not definitely result in a peer-reviewed publication. This research program is also offering me a subsidized Kaplan GRE test prep course. I pay $50, they pay the rest of the overwhelming majority. Therein lies my dilemma...

When I got my GRE results, I was content, but not happy. I know I can get an 800 on the Math, I even did so on the practice tests. However, the GRE being a minor metric used in admissions, I figured a 770 is good enough. If I buy the $50 course, I will probably want to take it again and waste hours of time on the prep. If I don't buy the prep course and don't get in to the universities I want, I will probably feel that I wasted a valuable opportunity. What do you guys think? Will a 770 in math keep me out of the top CS schools? Should I take the course and, by extension, take the test again?

Hi Scyrus,

It's true that probably half of the people you're competing against (top CS grads going for PhD's, that is) did score 800. But that means that the other half didn't.

And your 4.0 average, coupled with your 680 in verbal, which I think has got to be in the top 1% of Computer Science majors, are compelling.